FR / EN

July 2018


Capucine Vever



To have the opportunity to live in a building with the literal function of carrying (phoros) signs (sema), for a month, alone, facing the Atlantic, cannot possibly leave you unmoved. Seen from the semaphore, while the closest land is 3550 km away, the permanence of the horizon is simply dizzying. A lign without depth that offers the promise of an infinite. It is always at a distance, outwitting any attempt to come close to it. It is both here and immaterial. The limit that the horizon outlines is imaginary in the sense that it doesn’t exist outside the mind. In the continuity of my research on the unattainable, the horizon appeared to me as a territory to explore during this residency.

By day, I spent many hours at my observation post, in the watching room which is so similar to a wide-open eye vigilantly scanning the sea. I spent many hours staring vainly at the ocean, on the lookout for the hundreds of cargo ships that passed daily just a few miles before me. Connected to navigation sites in real time, I had precise localisations as references, but I stumbled over their invisible presence. I found it truly fascinating that I couldn’t see from the semaphore this neverending procession of goods and raw materials coming from around the world, where navigation roads have been pushed back behind the horizon. Through a dissociation of image and sound, the film The Successor, which was entirely shot at the semaphore (in July and then a couple of days in December 2018), thus plays with this contrast between very contemplative images of the oceanic space – the cliché of the virgin ocean – and a voice that describes very factually the intense activity that is happening but which remains unseen. The narrator is off-camera and represents the figure of the semaphore keeper, which no longer exists today. It is like an acousmêtre, which means that it only exists in the film’s sound space and its presence is suggested as if it could appear at any moment in the camera range, contrary to a voice-over which is completely exterior to the images. The very minimalistic and meditative music written by Valentin Ferré also holds an important role, playing with the repetition so characteristic of ocean freight. These sound waves synchronize and desynchronize without any connection with the images, except in discrete snippets. The voice gives us precise details on these cargo ships that remain off-camera. If, on the screen, the notion of distance is omnipresent, the narrator’s comments leads us to consider it non-existent, abolished by a constant traffic of cheap goods.

By night however, darkness engulfs everything, since there is no light pollution in Ushant. The horizon disappears, exempts itself from the nocturnal depth and all the activity of the island is suspended. One day, in my presence, a wizard removed the horizon all around me (10 years after Nicolas Floc’h)is a series of 6 photographs that I took by pushing the light sensor of the camera to the maximum, the only way to capture the beams of the Créac’h semaphore in their continuous rotation. Whereas the eye only distinguishes a black vastness brushed by light, the hypersensitivity of the captor enables to seize with a shutter speed of less than a second a dreamlike and mistily atmospheric landscape. Several temporalities are superimposed, sunlight  appearing up to 2 hours before actual sunrise. The sound level of the images gives them a depth and a pictorial texture that actually reveal the density of the night on the Ushant island.

During this residency, I thus experienced two very different relationships with the horizon, one diurnal and one nocturnal, simultaneously the imaginary and the reality you bump against,  as Céline Flécheux describes it in simple words. This horizon I perceived as much as a mental projection  as a political space.

—-

La Relève (The Successor), film 4K, 14min 36sec, 2019
A film made by Capucine Vever.

First Vidéo Prize 2019 Festival OVNI in Nice, with the support from the Centre de la Haute Energie.

Coproduction :  Finis Terrae Association and the CNAP with the aid for the first exhibition in a gallery.
With the support of the galerie Eric Mouchet.

Images, texts, voices and cutting : Capucine Vever
Camera operator: Mathieu Pinard et Capucine Vever
Music and proofreading: Valentin Ferré
Infographics and grading: Mathieu Pinard

Language : French, Subtitles : English
Production country : France
Projection media : DCP, Applepro Res, Mov, 4K, HD

FR / EN

juillet 2018


Capucine Vever



Avoir l’opportunité de résider dans un bâtiment dont la fonction était littéralement de porter (phoros) le signe (sema), un mois, seule, face à l’Atlantique, ne laisse clairement pas indifférent.e. Vu depuis le sémaphore et alors que les prochaines terres se trouvent à 3550 km, la permanence de l’horizon est tout simplement vertigineuse. Une ligne sans épaisseur qui offre la promesse d’un infini. Il se tient toujours à distance et s’échappe à chaque tentative de s’en approcher. Il est bien là mais n’a aucune matérialité. La limite que l’horizon esquisse est imaginaire dans le sens où elle n’existe pas hors de l’esprit. Dans la continuité de mes recherches sur l’inatteignable, l’horizon m’est apparu comme un territoire à explorer lors de cette résidence.

De jour, j’ai passé nombre d’heures à mon poste d’observation, à l’endroit de cet œil vigilant ouvert sur la mer qu’est la salle de veille. J’ai passé de nombreuses heures à chercher en vain sur l’océan les centaines de cargos qui passaient quotidiennement à quelques dizaines de miles devant moi. Connectée sur les sites de navigation en temps réel j’avais leur localisation précise, mais je butais sur leur présence invisible. J’ai trouvé absolument fascinant que je ne puisse pas voir depuis le sémaphore ce défilement incessant de marchandises et de matières premières provenant du monde entier dont les routes de navigation ont été repoussées juste derrière l’horizon. Par une dissociation image et son, le film La Relève que j’ai tourné uniquement depuis le sémaphore (en juillet puis quelques jours en décembre 2018) joue donc de ce contraste entre des images très contemplatives de l’espace océanique – la vision commune d’un océan vierge – et une voix qui décrit de façon très factuelle l’intense activité qui s’y déroule mais que l’on ne voit pas. La narratrice est hors-champ et réincarne la figure du gardien de phare aujourd’hui disparue. Elle est comme un acousmêtre, c’est à dire qu’elle n’a d’existence que dans l’espace sonore du film et sa présence est travaillée de façon à ce qu’elle semble pouvoir apparaître à tout moment dans le champ, à la différence d’une voix off qui est complètement extérieur aux images. La musique très minimale et méditative de Valentin Ferré a également un rôle important, elle joue de cette répétition qui caractérise le fret maritime. Ces nappes sonores se synchronisent et se désynchronisent sans aucun raccord sonore avec les images, sauf par bribes discrètes. La voix s’attache à donner des détails précis sur ces cargos qui sont le hors-champ du paysage. Si à l’image la notion de distance est omniprésente, les réflexions de la narratrice nous amènent à la considérer comme inexistante, abolie par un trafic de marchandise incessant et très bon marché.

Alors que de nuit, l’enfoncement dans le noir est total car Ouessant ne connaît pas la pollution lumineuse. L’horizon disparaît, il se soustrait à la profondeur nocturne et toute l’activité de l’île est en suspens. Un jour, en ma présence, un mage retira l’horizon tout autour de moi (10 ans après Nicolas Floc’h) est une série de 6 photographies que j’ai réalisée en poussant la sensibilité du capteur de l’appareil photographique à l’extrême, seul moyen de figer les faisceaux du phare du Créac’h dans leur rotation continue. Alors que l’œil ne distingue qu’une étendue noire balayée de lumière, l’hypersensibilité du capteur permet de saisir avec un temps de pose inférieur à une seconde un paysage onirique aux allures vaporeuses. Plusieurs temporalités se superposent, la lumière du soleil peut apparaître 2h avant que ce dernier ne se lève. Le niveau de bruit des images leur donne une profondeur et une texture picturale qui révèlent en réalité la densité de la nuit sur l’île de Ouessant.

J’ai donc vécue pendant cette résidence deux rapports très différents à l’horizon, un diurne et un nocturne, tout à la fois l’imaginaire et le réel contre quoi l’on vient buter comme le décrit très simplement Céline Flécheux. Un horizon que j’ai perçu comme un espace de projection mentale autant qu’un espace politique.

—-

La Relève, film 4K, 14min 36sec, 2019
Un film réalisé par Capucine Vever

Premier Prix Vidéo 2019 Festival OVNI à Nice, avec le soutien du Centre de la Haute Energie.
Coproduction : Association Finis Terrae et le CNAP avec l’aide à la première exposition en galerie.
Avec le soutien de la galerie Eric Mouchet.

Images, textes, voix et montage : Capucine Vever
Cadre: Mathieu Pinard et Capucine Vever
Musique et relecture texte: Valentin Ferré
Infographie et étalonnage: Mathieu Pinard

Langue : Français, Sous-titre : Anglais
Pays de production : France
Support de projection : DCP, Applepro Res, Mov, 4K, HD