FR / EN

july 2016


Enrique Ramírez



It is said that certain Indian tribes thought that we walked towards the past with the future     behind us, because the past is something that is in front of us, we can see it, whereas the future is behind us, like a blind spot, invisible and unknown… They said that the white spots (stars) that we see in the sky were holes through which the light of the universe came and that obscurity did not exist.
When night comes, the lighthouses and the world starts to light up and turn, tracing an intense but short lived line in the horizon, between sky and sea. Sailors, immersed in the vast ocean of long data, trying to decipher the route of their boats by linking the dots in the sky together, knew nevertheless, when their eyes saw an intense and luminous beam of light rotating, that land was near…
Looking from afar is looking back, as the light of the dead stars that stay visible although they have ceased to live for a long time now… 

The first thing that we see, when coming from America by boat, is the Créac’h semaphore. Every 10 seconds, we can see a light that announces that land is close by, it is the eyes of the ancient continent, the beam of an artificial star that throws lightning bolts every ten seconds to show the way to sea travellers, that often come from the New World, or from the end of the world, the Finistère… The other end of the world…
These lights indicate land or the end of it, there are the world’s signals of reference, of arrival or return, traces that guide us to a specific place, different constellations carry inside of them the memory of their own light, showing their past and their future… In the present.

Two white beams joined in rotation

Video 2K
2017
length 24 min 41 sec
Frac Bretagne collection 

I saw clouds falling towards the sky
I saw skies become overcast

I saw my eyes going blind
I saw clouds going up to the sky

I saw skies redden
I saw lights in the horizon

juillet 2016


Enrique Ramírez



Il est dit que certaines tribus indiennes pensaient que nous marchions vers le passé avec l’avenir derrière nous, parce que le passé est quelque chose qui est en face de nous, nous pouvons le voir, alors que l’avenir serait derrière nous, comme un point aveugle, invisible et inconnu… Ils disaient que les tâches blanches (les étoiles) que nous apercevons dans le ciel étaient des trous par où la lumière de l’univers entrait et que l’obscurité n’y existait pas.
Quand la nuit se lève, les phares et le monde commence à s’allumer et à tourner, traçant une ligne intense mais de courte durée à l’horizon, entre ciel et mer. Les marins, immergés dans le vaste océan de longues données, essayant de déchiffrer la route de leurs navires en reliant les points du ciel, savaient en revanche, quand leurs regards rencontraient un faisceau de lumière intense et lumineux tournoyant, que la terre était proche…
Regarder de loin, c’est regarder en arrière, comme la lumière des étoiles mortes qui restent visibles, mais n’existent plus maintenant depuis bien longtemps…

La première chose que nous voyons, si nous arrivons depuis l’Amérique en bateau, est le sémaphore de Créac’h. Toutes les 10 secondes, nous pouvons voir une lumière qui annonce la terre proche, ce sont les yeux de l’ancien continent, le faisceau d’une étoile artificielle qui toutes les 10 secondes jette des éclairs de lumière pour montrer la voie aux voyageurs de la mer, qui viennent souvent du Nouveau Monde, ou de la fin du monde, le Finistère… L’autre bout du monde…
Ces lumières indiquent la terre ou la fin de celle-ci, elles sont les signaux de référence du monde, de l’arrivée ou du retour, des traces qui nous guident vers un endroit particulier, les différentes constellations qui portent en elle la mémoire de leur propre lumière, indiquant leur passé et leur avenir… Dans le présent.

Deux faisceaux blancs groupés et rotatifs

Video 2K
2017
durée 24 min 41 seg
Collection du Frac Bretagne

J’ai vu des nuages tomber vers le ciel
J’ai vu des cieux s’assombrir

J’ai vu mes yeux devenir aveugles
J’ai vu des nuages aller jusqu’au ciel

J’ai vu des cieux rougir
J’ai vu des lumières à l’horizon