FR / EN

june 2013


Gilles A. Tiberghien



“I consider my residency at the Ushant semaphore like a unique time to come back to my Mexican travel diaries. I have been writing them for about 35 years every time I go to Mexico. I would like to make a book, a “travelog” out of it. I have travelled a lot and written a lot of diaries while thinking about what travelling could mean nowadays. But my endeavor is not sociological: it is, before anything else, literary and artistic. Indeed, I dedicated an exhibition to this question of travelling and its relationships to art and literature, “For a republic of dreams”, which constitutes the third chapter of what I would gladly call “A poetic of the imaginary in movement”, where Le principe de l’axolotl & suppléments(The axolotl principle & additions) (Actes – Sud, 2011) and FINIS TERRAE, Imaginations et imaginaires cartographiques(Cartographic imaginations and imaginary) (éditions Bayard, 2007) are the two others.

Ushant appears to me like a place, which situation at the edge of French inhabited lands resembles a platform and a privileged observatory for dreaming and the imaginary of journeys on the other side of oceans. I lived on this island, twenty years ago, and, like many, the “wild” aspect of his west coast immediately struck me. A place that had made me want to come back, but yet never did. Thanks to this stay, I could find a moment of solitude and concentration to rework these diaries accumulated over the years and get going with a book of which I have started to write certain parts without really having the chance to give them a real coherence.”

*

This was the short text that described my project when I applied for this residency in August 2011. During my stay in June 2013, I strictly followed that program. I wrote day and night, on top of the Semaphore in the watch room, copying my diaries and organizing my notes in order to write the book I intended to finish one day. But what I essentially did then was decipher and put some order into these hundreds of pages, scribbled in my miniscule writing and looking up, every hour maybe, to watch the sea in front of me and the way the sun, at different times of day, made its color vary. It would be too long to tell the life of a lighthouse keeper that only has to keep himself or a “semaphorist” whose only task is to blacken still virtual leaflets on his computer. The only memorable events were firstly the visit of two technical officers and secondly the one of my friends Sophie Kaplan and Stéphane Crémer. I wrote on my diary on June 6:

“Bad night. I slept little because of an insomnia- I fell back asleep but I still woke up too early this morning. Drowsiness and headache. Two guys came in the morning to check the sealing of the roof.

“ – So, you are an artist?
No, a writer
Oh, and what do you write?”

The usual questions. Rather nice and curious people.

“ – It doesn’t scare you, all alone, like that, the “Shining” aspect of the place?”

Hum…, well, I have to think about it. Obviously, put this way… Doesn’t he have something else to tell me? After their visit, I spend several hours copying my diary and go to the village to do some shopping not without having checked “Sky weather” following the advice of the skinniest of my two visitors. The website is very reliable according to him. Tomorrow’s forecast: bad weather.

Then there was the visit of Sophie Kaplan with the Mahon, a collective of artists exhibited at the Criée, who she has taken to the island to spend the weekend, and the visit of my friend Stéphane Crémer, whose poetry book CompostI had prefaced. Stéphane slept two nights there and I went on my first walks on the island with him. I will not go on many others because of how worried I am not to follow my writing schedule. My neighbor, Mathieu, who I sympathized with and who makes weathercocks, invites me for dinner one night. He told me to carefully close behind me when I leave because people would not hesitate to enter the semaphore at anytime. One day, one of the residents found two people who were admiring the view from the watch room: they went up like if it were a public monument. Catherine Elkar and Marcel Dinahet also came one day – but they had warned me beforehand – and we had lunch together at the village. It was another one of these rare noticeable outings.

I took many books,A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers by H.D. Thoreau, among others, in which I wrote this for example:
“One can never go above the real events in our stories without prejudice. An example of pure invention cannot exist, as some suppose. Writing an authentic work of fiction means only taking the time and liberty to describe with more precision certain things as they are. An authentic description of reality is the pinnacle of poetry, since common sense only has a hasty and superficial vision of it.”

And now, I am left with the memory of the sea and waves, their permanent backwash, and the desire to come back to the lighthouse to continue a task that, however, can only be finished if I move away from it.

PRINTEMPS 2013


Gilles A. Tiberghien



« J’envisage ma résidence au sémaphore de Ouessant comme un temps privilégié pour revenir sur mes journaux de voyage Mexicains. Je les écris depuis près de 35 ans chaque fois que je me rends au Mexique. J’aimerais en tirer un livre, un “travelogue”. J’ai beaucoup voyagé et beaucoup écrit de journaux tout en réfléchissant à ce que voyager pouvait signifier de nos jours. Mais mon entreprise n’est pas sociologique : elle est avant tout littéraire et artistique et j’ai d’ailleurs consacré une exposition à cette question du voyage et de ses rapports avec l’art et la littérature, Pour une république des rêves, qui constitue le troisième volet de ce que j’appellerais volontiers « Une poétique de l’imaginaire en mouvement » dont Le principe de l’axolotl & suppléments (Actes – Sud, 2011) et FINIS TERRAE, Imaginations et imaginaires cartographiques (éditions Bayard, 2007) constituent les deux autres moments.

Ouessant m’apparaît un lieu qui, par sa situation aux confins des terres habitées de la France, est comme une plateforme et un observatoire privilégié pour la rêverie et l’imaginaire des voyages de l’autre côté des océans. J’ai séjourné dans cette île, il y a vingt ans, et, comme beaucoup, j’ai tout de suite été frappé par le caractère « sauvage » de sa côte ouest. Un lieu qui m’avait donné alors envie de revenir et où, pourtant, je ne suis jamais revenu. Grâce à ce séjour, je pourrais trouver un moment de solitude et de concentration pour retravailler ces carnets accumulés depuis des années et mettre en route un livre dont j’ai déjà commencé d’écrire certaines parties sans néanmoins avoir jamais eu l’occasion de leur donner une véritable cohérence. »

*

Tel était le bref texte qui décrivait mon projet lorsque j’ai demandé cette résidence en août 2011. Pendant mon séjour en juin 2013, je me suis strictement tenu à ce programme. J’écrivais du matin au soir, tout en haut du Sémaphore, dans la salle de veille, recopiant mes carnets et classant mes notes en vue d’écrire le livre que j’ai bien l’intention de terminer un jour. Mais ce que j’ai fait essentiellement alors c’est déchiffrer et mettre au propre ces centaines de pages griffonnée de ma minuscule écriture en levant la tête, toutes les heures peut-être, pour regarder la mer devant moi et la façon dont le soleil, à différents moments du jour, en faisait varier la couleur. Il serait trop long de raconter la vie d’un gardien de phare qui n’a rien à garder que lui même ou d’un « sémaphoriste » qui n’a d’autre tâche que de noircir des feuillets encore virtuels dans son ordinateur. Les seuls événements notables furent d’abord la visite de deux préposés pour un contrôle technique puis celle de mes amis Sophie Kaplan et Stéphane Crémer. Je note dans mon journal à la date du 6 juin :

« Mauvaise nuit. J’ai peu dormi à cause d’une insomnie – je me suis rendormi mais je me suis réveillé encore trop tôt ce matin. Abrutissement et mal au crâne. Deux types sont passés dans la matinée pour vérifier l’étanchéité de la toiture.

« – Alors vous êtes artiste ?
– Non écrivain.
– Ah, et vous écrivez quoi ? »

Les questions habituelles. Des gens plutôt sympathiques et curieux.

« – Ca ne vous fait pas peur, tout seul, comme cela, le côté Shining du coin ? »

Hum…, bon, il faut que j’y réfléchisse. Naturellement, vu sous cet angle… Il n’aurait pas autre chose à me dire ? Après leur visite, je passe plusieurs heures à recopier mon journal puis je file au village faire quelque courses non sans avoir regardé “Météo ciel” suivant le conseil du plus maigre de mes deux visiteurs. Le site est très fiable selon lui. Demain mauvais temps annoncé. »

Puis il y eut la venue de Sophie Kaplan avec les Mahony, un collectif d’artistes exposés à la Criée, qu’elle avait emmené sur l’île pour passer le Week – end, et celle de mon ami Stéphane Crémer dont j’ai préfacé le livre de poésie, Compost. Stéphane a dormi là deux nuits et j’ai fait avec lui mes premières promenades à pied sur l’île. Je n’en ferai d’ailleurs pratiquement pas d’autres tant je suis inquiet de ne pas mener à bien mon programme d’écriture. Mon voisin, Mathieu, avec qui j’ai sympathisé et qui fabrique des girouettes, m’invitera un soir dîner chez lui. Il m’a dit de bien fermer derrière moi quand je sors parce que les gens ne se gênent pas pour rentrer dans le sémaphore n’importe quand. Un jour, un des résidents a trouvé deux personnes qui admiraient la vue de la salle de veille : elles sont montées là, comme s’il s’agissait d’un monument public. Catherine Elkar et Marcel Dinahet sont aussi passés – mais ils m’avaient prévenu avant – et nous sommes allés déjeuner ensemble au village. Ce fut une autre de ces rares sorties notables.

J’ai emporté pas mal de livres, Sept jours sur le fleuve de H.D. Thoreau, entre autres dans lequel j’ai noté ceci par exemple :
« On ne peut jamais outrepasser sans préjudice les faits réels dans nos récits. Il n’existe pas d’exemple d’invention pure, comme certains le supposent. Ecrire une authentique œuvre de fiction ne consiste qu’à prendre le temps et la liberté de décrire plus précisément certaine choses telles qu’elles sont. Une authentique description du réel constitue le summum de la poésie, car le bon sens n’en a qu’une vision hâtive et superficielle. »

Et maintenant il me reste le souvenir de la mer et des vagues, leur ressac permanent, et l’envie de revenir au phare continuer une tâche qui, pourtant, ne peut-être terminée que si je m’en éloigne.