FR / EN

June 2018


Patrick Beaulieu



Leclerc Lake, Mont-Orford National Park, 3 March 2019.

The reefs subside and reveal themselves in quick successions. Ushant disappears in the fog. Here is a very favorable environment to conduct research on evanescence. During my artist’s residency at the Créac’h semaphore in June 2018, I went on a series of performative excursions on the shoreline, in search of evanescent landscapes and on the lookout for the people who inhabit them. I drifted my way through the mists and fogs so conducive to desorientation and intuitive wandering.

Since my stay at the semaphore, I have put together a set of video segments gathered from my walking itineraries, on the island and elsewhere, between January and July 2018. Segments where the lapping waves and the swell intertwine and where the fogs and horizons blend in one another through a slow “image dissolution”. These video projects entitledthe breath and the dissolutionwill be added in 2019 to a body of work combining installations, sculptures, photographs, performances, in situ/ in sociusinterventions, geopoetic maps and archives presented in different sites on the Atlantic littoral and elsewhere in the context of the project Garden islands, paradise islands.[1]

Patrick Beaulieu

Patrick Beaulieu is a transdisciplinary artist. Intrinsically linked to the question of mobility, his works establish a relationship to territories, by addressing in an empirical manner the question of geographical and social borders, but also the lines between reality and fiction. Following his interest in the concept of travel and how it can be narrated, he expands on certain intangible phenomena that surround us (migratory, meteorological, spiritual…), and to the forces that operate within. For the past twelve years, he has created through performative excursions in North America, Europe and Asia, during which he tracks the signs of a hidden geography, where political divisions fade away in light of poetic revelations. Collaborating with authors, geographers and philosophers, in 2013 he finished his trilogy of transborder odysseys “VVV” which followed the aerial trajectory of the annual migration of the Monarch butterflies overland (Vecteur Monarque, 2007), to go in pursuit of American winds for 25 days, in a sort of continental navigation (Ventury, 2010) and to abandon himself to destiny by venturing on uncharted roads (Vegas, 2012). In summer 2014, he went on a slow continental drift  in a kayak for 25 days, crisscrossing the meanders that led him from the source of a river of South Quebec to the Atlantic Ocean at the mouth of the Hudson River in New York (Méandre). Between the summer 2017 and 2018, he made the performative excursion EL PERDIDO, a Panamerican journey in search of places that do not exist. Starting point: Lost City, Oklahoma.

[1]As invited artists for the project Garden island Paradise islands, which brings together art, ecology and the poetics of the living, Patrick Beaulieu and Gilles Clément will share their perceptions of the Aix and Madame Islands during multi-sites and truant exhibitions during the summer and fall 2019. Under the artistic direction of Dominique Truco, Garden island Paradise islandsfollows a two-year and two-step process: in 2018,  the artists will be hosted on the sites; in 2019, the artists’ research and creations will be presented through exhibitions on different venues on the Charentais coastline.

juin 2018


Patrick Beaulieu



Lac Leclerc, Parc National du Mont Orford, 3 mars 2019.

Les récifs s’estompent et se révèlent en rafale. Ouessant disparait dans le brouillard.  Environnement des plus propice pour poursuivre une recherche sur l’évanescence. Lors du séjour en résidence au sémaphore du Créac’h en juin 2018, je réalisai une suite d’excursions performatives sur le littoral, à la recherche de paysages évanescents et à la rencontre des gens qui les habitent. J’effectuai de longues dérives à la marche à travers ces brumes et brouillards favorables à la désorientation et à l’errance intuitive.

Depuis le sémaphore, j’ai regroupé un ensemble de séquences vidéos provenant d’expériences de parcours effectués sur l’île et ailleurs entre janvier et juillet 2018. Des séquences où les clapotis et les houles s’entremêlent et où les brouillards et les horizons se fondent les uns dans les autres par une lente « dissolution d’images ». Ces projets vidéos intitulés le souffle et la dilution s’intègreront en 2019 à un corpus d’œuvres alliant installations, sculptures, photographies, performances, interventions in-situ/in-socius, cartes géopoétiques et archives présentées sur différents sites du littoral atlantique et ailleurs dans le cadre du projet Îles jardins îles paradis.[1]

Patrick Beaulieu

Patrick Beaulieu est artiste transdisciplinaire. Intrinsèquement liés à la question de la mobilité, ses projets établissent un rapport aux territoires, en abordant de façon empirique la question des frontières géographiques et sociales, mais aussi celles entre la réalité et la fiction. Intéressé par le voyage et son récit, il s’attarde à certains phénomènes insaisissables qui nous entourent (migratoires, météorologiques, spirituels…), et aux forces qui agissent en ceux-ci. Depuis une douzaine d’années, son travail s’est forgé lors d’excursions performatives à travers l’Amérique du Nord, l’Europe et l’Asie au cours desquels il piste les signes d’une géographie secrète, où les divisions politiques s’estompent à la lumière des révélations poétiques. Faisant appel à la collaboration d’auteurs, géographes et philosophes, il terminait en 2013 la trilogie d’odyssées transfrontières « VVV » qui consistait à suivre, par voie de terre, la trajectoire aérienne de la migration annuelle des papillons monarques (Vecteur Monarque, 2007), à poursuivre durant 25 jours les vents d’Amérique dans une sorte de navigation continentale (Ventury, 2010) et à s’abandonner au destin et à la chance sur les chemins du hasard (Vegas, 2012). À l’été 2014, il se lançait dans une lente dérive continentale de 25 jours en kayak, sillonnant les méandres qui le menèrent de la source d’une rivière au sud du Québec, jusqu’à l’océan atlantique à l’embouchure du fleuve Hudson à New-York (Méandre). Entre l’été 2017 et 2018, il réalisait l’excursion performative EL PERDIDO, un parcours panaméricain à la recherche de lieux qui n’existent pas. Point de départ : Lost City, Oklahoma.

[1]Conviés dans le cadre du projet Îles jardins îles paradis reliant art, écologie et poétique du vivant, Patrick Beaulieu et Gilles Clément partageront leurs perceptions des Îles d’Aix et Île Madame lors d’expositions multi-sites et buissonnières au cours de l’été et de l’automne 2019. Sous la direction artistique de Dominique Truco, Îles jardins îles paradisse construit sur deux années en deux étapes : en 2018, accueil des artistes sur les territoires ; 2019 restitution des recherches et créations des artistes lors d’expositions sur différents sites du littoral charentais.